Close this tool window


Physics department was recognized as a research centre under Mahatma Gandhi University in 2009.  Three of the faculty members, Dr. T G Gopinathan, Dr. P S Regupathi and Dr. Sebastian Mathew had been recognized as the research guides by the university at that time. Currently there are 4 research guides in the centre. 5 among 6 permanent faculty are Ph. D holders, and one is pursuing Ph.D.

Research guides

  1. Dr. Jini Thomas
  2. Dr. Mercy Mathews
  3. Dr. Jaiby Joseph
  4. Dr. Benny Joseph Thullissery (Ilahia College of Arts and Science, Muvattupuzha) 


Name of Guide Research Scholars Area of Research Publications
Dr. Jini Thomas   
  1. Jinu Mary Ninan
Materials Science-Crystallography, Ceramic materials View
Dr. Mercy Mathews  

Nano-Magnetic Materials

Dr. Jaiby Joseph      
  1. Maria Jose
Hydrochemistry View
Dr. Benny Joseph Thullissery (Ilahia College of Arts and Science, Muvattupuzha)
  1. Davis Johny
Materials Science, Solar Cell  


The department is funded by DST under   FIST scheme.


Research Projects undertaken by the Department

Major/Minor Principal Investigator Funding Agency Amount Ongoing/ Completed

Dr. Jini Thomas

KSCSTE Rs.16,44,166/-  Completed
Major Dr. Jaiby Joseph DST SERB (TARE)

Teachers Associateship for Research Excellence

Rs. 18,30,000/- Ongoing

Dr. Feby Jose

UGC Rs. 125000/- Completed
Minor Dr. Jaiby Joseph UGC Rs. 265000/-  Completed

Active research collaborations

  • NISER, Bhubaneshwar (TARE, host Institution)
  • STAR Collaboration, USA
  • Inter University Accelerator Centre (IUAC)
  • Inter University Centre for Astronomy & Astrophysics (IUCAA)
  • NCRA- TIFR- Pune
  • Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR), Kalpakkam

Instrumental Facilities Available

  • FTIR Spectrometer
  • UV-Vis NIR Spectrophotometer with DRS
  • High Frequency LCR meter
  • Muffle furnace
  • Centrifuge
  • Hot air over
  • Magnetic Stirrer with hot plate
  • Four Probe Set up

© Copyright 2024 - K E College, Mannanam. All Rights Reserved.